What’s the difference between a journalist and a reporter?

Mick Gregory

Only snobs or egomaniacs call themselves journalists. I have to admit, I like the term citizen journalist, because it has a ring of truth to it and it annoys mainstream journos.

A cub reporter in the 1950s asked his boss what the difference was between a reporter and a journalist.
He said, “a journalist had two suits, a reporter only one.”

Today, reporters don’t even bother to wear ties, let alone cheap suits. But the “executive editors” still need that differentiation or class definition of wearing a dark suit to the office. They are lords of the newsroom over scores of slobs.

Now you know why I call my blog sadbastards. I’m giving you a peek behind the curtains, before the final act of the once great print empire and the sad, egomaniacal editors scrambling to keep their status relevant.

27 thoughts on “What’s the difference between a journalist and a reporter?

    • There is none berween those 2 titles.
      But a reporter is just that ..ie.. short and precise.
      No stage setting, time frames, or gory details on a potuesque manner .
      Bare facts and that’s that.

  1. In my now nearly-4 decades in the business, I’ve found it really boils down to three distinctions:

    First, the reporter is responsible for Who, What, When, and Where….and occasionally has the time to get into the How and Why. But the bottom line is always: I cover 6-8 stories a day, every day. I must write short, fast and without hesitation in providing the basics, with comments from however many sides there are on the issue.

    The journalist has the time and the doggedness to get the How and Why…every time. They enjoy being able to write as complete a story as possible, informing their audience to the fullest extent.

    As one of my print friends pointed out many times, ‘Reporters give you the headlines……Journalists give you the full story.’

    Reporters do a bit more than that, but, again, my experience has been as cited above. Hope it helps.

  2. im a reporter and we are the one who go on the field and faces all the danger on the field regarding terrorism and crime for example we have b there in the field where the bullets and rocket are being firing . but then too if we report any news which is wrong or we dont hav the proof then we can be terminated than to its an adventures and i love my job

  3. Im agree with ammir mehar but as per my knowledge some reporter are doing there job as a forth pole of democracy .maximum journalIst are are working for politicens and collecling wealth so i didnt agree that all reporters are facing danger they searching something for

  4. thore bhujang
    thats true reagrading your statement regarding getting wealth and having connections with the politician . but then too my brother i do almost every day a story regarding crime and corruption. mostly people try to bribe me but i and my god knows im 100% true with my job and the day i betray my job and my country im ill be not calling my self a reporter . and one thing more brother my fiend brother was killed in an fake encounter by the police and i knew that it was a fake encounter so i broad casted the whole story with the interviews of their mother father and sister and within a month that that assistant sub inspector was dismissed and a warrant was issued agaginst him . what i felt bad is that i was doing my job but my friend thought i was doing it for money ‘ so when this all story was over my friend offered me 10000 rupees and that hurted me i never took that money and from that day im talking to my that friend caz he was my friend but then too he made me stood in the list of corrupt bas……

  5. Verify out the video clip of it operating on an iPod Contact
    4G. There are other jailbreak software accessible in BestJailbreakSoftware
    if you prefer. The problem lies in this particular model of iPod.

  6. There is a silly reason to jailbreaking phones. Currently
    it only works on Macs but Windows support will undoubtedly be arriving shortly.
    But I do not begin to see the iPad being very successful.

  7. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but
    after browsing through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to
    me. Anyways, I’m certainly pleased I discovered
    it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

  8. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you may
    be a great author. I will make certain to bookmark your blog and
    will come back in the future. I want to encourage yourself to
    continue your great writing, have a nice day!

  9. I think this is one of the most vital information for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But want to remark
    on some general things, The site style is great, the articles is really
    excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  10. The en jail marker is removed and you are totally free to do what you wish with
    your $10. It provides standing information about solutions and resources.
    The apps beneath are absolutely among the very best.

  11. Following that the card gets turned on and a thorough search method
    will discover it. I refuse to be held responsible if anybody should
    fall short to produce to Victory Storm King’s energy.

Leave a Reply

